Week five reflection from Dena

Midway point! Wow, this is really flying by.

I am really looking forward to week six and the remainder of this course. We have a four day weekend coming up and I will be using it to really truly catch up to the course and communicate with my group on our final project.

This week I spent a lot of time refining my midterm topic, which ultimately ended up how to use Facebook as an online learning community.

I have to say the first time I saw one of the instructors at my community college use Facebook as their course management system I was appalled! How ridiculous was that! I thought they were just being lazy or something. Then I saw that a mentor of mine who teaches design classes was using it too and he had his groups open/public for anyone to view. I greatly appreciated that he left them open so I could witness the communication, the community building that was going on in his courses and became envious because I did not have that same level within my own online courses.

The past two weeks have allowed me to explore the rationale behind utilizing Facebook and while I’m not sure if I am completely a believer, I was, and continue to be, a major supporter of social learning and truly believe that the features of social networking sites like Facebook need to be incorporated into all learning management systems.

Leave a comment

Filed under Week 5 Reflections

Leave a Reply

